Mad Season’s “Above” To Be Given Deluxe Reissue In April


April 02nd will see the release of a deluxe reissue of Mad Season‘s lone 1995 album “Above“. The group—who featured late Alice In Chains vocalist Layne Staley, Mike McCready of Pearl Jam fame, late bassist John Baker Saunders and ex-Screaming Trees drummer Barrett Martin—had a number of songs written for a sophomore album that was never finished.

McCready and Martin revisited that material last year with “Above” producer Brett Eliason once again behind the boards. The trio brought onboard Mark Lanegan (ex-Screaming Trees/Queens Of The Stone Age, etc.) to lend his vocal/lyrical talents to three of those tracks which will be included on the new 2-CD/1-DVD set.

- Advertisement -

The first disc of the set will see the album itself along with the aforementioned revisited songs and some extra bonus tracks. The second disc will be comprised of live audio from the bands final show (released on VHS in 1995 as “Live At The Moore“). The third disc in the set will be a DVD release of the aforementioned live concernt film, accompanied by bonus live footage.

Extra songs that will appear on the first disc of the set include:

Interlude” (previously unreleased)
Locomotive” (with Mark Lanegan)
Black Book Of Fear” (with Mark Lanegan)
Slip Away” (with Mark Lanegan)
I Don’t Wanna Be A Soldier” (remix)

A 2xLP vinyl pressing of the release is also expected to be made available on April 20th as part of this years “Record Store Day” festivities.