Jeff Loomis To Track Three New Songs This Week


Jeff Loomis (ex-Nevermore) is headed to the studio this week to lay down three new songs which will see a digital release in July. Loomis will begin tracking his parts tomorrow, June 26th.

A posting on Loomisofficial website reads:

“According to Jeff Loomis Band touring guitarist and vocalist Joe Nurre, “Jeff and I have collaborated musically on two of the songs, and I have lyrics and vocals written for the three.” Touring drummer Anup Sastry will be playing the drums, and producer Aaron Smith will be recording and mixing. Apparently, Loomis will be going back to his roots. The former Nevermore guitarist played in a few death metal bands when he previously resided in Wisconsin as a teenager. “The vocals will be more aggressive and death metal-type.” Nurre explained.

There are plans to release the recordings digitally sometime in July, with samples of songs to be available beforehand.

Nurre added, “We will be playing some of these songs on our upcoming tour with The Contortionist. Jeff starts tracking on Tuesday.””

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch