Cynic Offshoot Portal To Release Their Demos In March


Cynic offshoot Portal will officially be releasing the 10 songs they demoed together 17 years ago. The outfit saw Cynic members Paul Masvidal and Sean Reinert team up with guitarist Jason Gobel, bassist Chris Kringel and female vocalist Aruna Abrams.

Speaking on the pending release, Masvidal stated:

“I never thought this day would come. A couple demos we’d record after ‘Focus‘, under the name ‘Portal‘, would develop a life of their own, and somehow become part of Cynic‘s larger discography. As an artist, it’s an amazingly unpredictable journey, to see these quiet labors of love, find their way, in their own time.”

Dubbed “The Portal Tapes” the effort will arrive in North American stores on March 27th (March 23rd in Europe) through Season Of Mist and be limited to 5000 digipak CD’s and 1000 vinyl LP’s.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch