Hour Of Penance Detail New Album “Cast The First Stone”


Hour Of Penance have announced a January 27th release date for their new album, “Cast The First Stone“, via Prosthetic Records. The band laid down the tracks for the effort at Kick Recording Studio with bassist Marco Mastrobuono producing. Gyula Havancsak created the cover art for the effort, which can be seen below. Lead guitarist Giulio Moschini said of the album:

“Sonically speaking , this is the best sounding album we’ve ever recorded. We really worked hard on this, listening to the album countless times before finally delivering the masters to Prosthetic Records. It was definitely worth the wait and we’re 100% satisfied by the great work Marco has done behind the mixing desk. We’ve literally spent weeks trying different mic techniques, hardware and preamps; all trying to avoid plug-in technologies as much as we could. We wanted our album to sound more dynamic and I think that we’ve achieved that 100%.”

- Advertisement -

Vocalist Paolo Pieri meanwhile revealed that the album draws from ‘the injustices suffered during the Crusades and Colonialism do not justify the chain of hate that propagandizes the destruction of the West.’ He said of that:

“I believe that the political situation in recent years has brought to light again a millennial conflict between West and East. Events like the terrorist attack at the Bataclan, where we only played a few months before the massacre, have influenced the lyrics on this record very much. It does not matter who has thrown the first stone, but who first evolved his ideology to seek peace and coexistence instead of war to the bitter end.”

Hour Of Penance - Cast The First Stone

01 – “XXI Century Imperial Crusade
02 – “Cast The First Stone
03 – “Burning Bright
04 – “Iron Fist
05 – “The Chains Of Misdeed
06 – “Horn Of Flies
07 – “Shroud Of Ashes
08 – “Wall Of Cohorts
09 – “Damnatio Memoriae