Latest News

RSS Link

Enslaved Reveal Cover Art For New Album “Riitiir”

Enslaved‘s twelfth studio album will carry the title of “Riitiir” and is due in North American stores on October 02nd (September 28th in Europe) via Nuclear Blast Records. Band guitarist Ivar Bjørnson shared the following about the effort and the albums cover art (available below:)

“The album is, as mentioned, entitled ‘Riitiir’ – a self-made ‘Norse-ified’ version of the words ‘Rites’ / ‘Rituals.’ RIITIIR = ‘The Rites of Man,’ to put it in a formulaic and easy way. There is no story with a timeline; again we’ve built structures that lay above the independent lyrics that we feel more comfortable with letting the reader explore, interpret, or simply discard themselves. It is entirely up to them. Meanwhile, we are extremely excited to see what visual artist Truls Espedal has come up with this time.

The collaboration between him, myself, and Grutle [Kjellson, vocalist & bassist] was closer, more understanding and powerful this time than ever before in our more than decade-long cooperation. The album concept and our feelings connected to it hit home instantly with Truls, in the same way that his initial ideas resonated intensely with us from the second he shared them with us. We will, of course, discuss some key concepts and potential interpretations in deeper song-by-song analysis – but let’s cross that rainbow when we get there.”

click here for the cover art…

The proverbial “Colony Of Birchmen” were reunited on this weeks episode of Adult Swim‘s “Aqua Something You Know Whatever” (aka “Aqua Teen Hunger Force“.) Brent Hinds, Brann Dailor and Troy Sanders of Mastodon and Queens Of The Stone Age‘s Josh Homme all voiced characters on the July 08th episode (season 9, episode 3) of the series.

The episode was titled “Shirt Herpes” and it featured a posssesed heavy metal/fantasy art themed t-shirt; complete with 3 metal musician demons voiced by the above. Some pictures of the characters (complete with erroneous credits) can be found below:
click here for the picture…

Shut In (The Acacia Strain) To Release “Old Homes” In August

Shut In, the new outfit featuring The Acacia Strain‘s Vincent Bennett and ex-Too Pure To Die guitarist Griffin Landa, have now scheduled an August 21st release date on Dreadwind Records for their debut 7″ “Old Homes“. A digital release will also take place through Bandcamp.

Victory Records will be delving into their back catalogue for a series of colored vinyl releases which will hit stores on August 28th. Some of the albums set to get the new wax treatment include:

Anti Heroes – “Underneath The Underground
Atreyu – “The Curse
Between The Buried And Me – “Between The Buried And Me
Blood For Blood – “Livin’ In Exile
Blood For Blood – “Wasted Youth Brew
Bloodlet – “The Seraphim Fall
Carnifex – “Hell Chose Me
Comeback Kid – “Symptoms + Cures
Darkest Hour – “Undoing Ruin
Darkest Hour – “Deliver Us
Emmure – “The Respect Issue
Emmure – “Felony Singles” (7″)
Otep – “Smash The Control Machine Singles (7″)
Silverstein – “Arrivals & Departures
Snapcase – “End Transmission
Strife – “Grey” (7″)
Within The Ruins – “Omen
Wretched – “Beyond The Gate

Most of the aforementioned releases will also come with an mp3 digital download of the album.

Papa Roach Film New Music Video

Papa Roach have finished up filming a new music video with director David Brodsky (All That Remains, The Devin Townsend Project). While no further details were provided, you can check out a picture from the shoot on Instagram. The bands forthcoming album, reportedly titled “The Connection“, is on schedule for an October 02nd release date on Eleven Seven Music.

The track listing has been revealed for I Am War‘s forthcoming full-length debut, “Outlive You All“. The group, who feature Atreyu frontman Alex Varkatzas and Bleeding Through vocalist Brandan Schieppati, will release the album on August 28th on Razor & Tie.

Here’s how the effort will shape up:

01 – “Don’t Worship Assholes
02 – “Uninvite Me To Your Facebook Party
03 – “The Poisoning
04 – “Plug Me In
05 – “Bat Out of Hell
06 – “Hunting Me
07 – “Chipped Shoulders And Heart Attacks
08 – “Don’t Know Anything
09 – “A Nightmare
10 – “Lead By Liars
11 – “My Love Affair With Disaster
12 – “Nihilistic Motivation
13 – “Feel The Same

Nonpoint Release Stream/Download Of New Single “Left For You”

Nonpoint have released a digital single for their new track “Left For You” via select digital retailers today, July 10th. The track serves as the first single from the groups forthcoming new album which they plan to release later this year.

You can also find an official stream of the aforementioned new song below: