Latest News

RSS Link

Wes Borland Clears Up Black Light Burns Single Plans Confusion

Wes Borland (also of Limp Bizkit) has cleared up some confusion surrounding Black Light Burns‘ forthcoming single plans. According to a newly-made tweet:

“Hi there. Just to be clear, we (BLB) have chosen a single AND shot a video, but the video we shot isn’t for the single. Confused? Stay tuned”

He followed that with:

“There’s going to be more than one video.”

So for clarity, the bands recent video shoot was for an as-yet unspecified track—and not for their new albums first single, “How To Look Naked“. The group will release their new outing “The Moment You Realize You’re Going To Fall” on August 14th.

We Are Defiance, Us, From Outside, Etc. Book Summer Tour

We Are Defiance and Us, From Outside will co-headline the forthcoming “Drink Yourself To Sleep Tour” with support from City Lights and To Each His Own. Dates for the trek will run as follows:

08/03 Houston, TX – M.I.C.
08/04 New Braunfels, TX – Harmony Sweet
08/05 Dallas, TX – Sons of Hermann Hall
08/06 El Paso, TX – Lips Lounge
08/07 Roswell, NM – The Unity Center
08/08 Mesa, AZ – The Underground
08/09 Las Vegas, NV – TBA
08/10 Canoga Park, CA – The Cobalt Cafe
08/11 Fullerton, CA – The Anchor
08/12 Bakersfield, CA – TBA
08/13 Orangevale, CA – The Boardwalk
08/14 Medford, OR – Elks Lodge
08/15 Seattle, WA – Studio Seven
08/16 Sumner, WA – The Venue
08/17 Spokane, WA – TBA
08/18 Ogden, UT – The Basement
08/19 Wyoming – TBA
08/20 Fort Collins, CO – TBA
08/21 Des Moines, IA – Vaudeville Mews
08/22 La Crosse, WI – The Warehouse
08/23 Barrington, IL – Penny Road Pub
08/24 Newburgh, IN – Fuel
08/25 Fremont, MI – Dogwood Performing Arts Center
08/26 Painesville, OH – Scores Fun Center
08/27 Erie, PA – Edinboro Campus Events Center
08/28 Harrison, NJ – American Legion Post 282
08/29 Richmond, VA – Kingdom
08/30 Spartanburg, SC – Groundzero
08/31 Jacksonville Beach, FL – Blues Rock Cafe

Devin Townsend Announces Cambridge, UK “The Retinal Circus” Warm Up Show

Devin Townsend has announced an October 24th show at The Junction in Cambridge, UK. The show will serve as a warm up to his forthcoming October 27th “The Retinal Circus” set at the Roundhouse in London, England.

That latter show will feature high-production values including actors, stilt walkers, fire breathers and more. It will also see him perform songs from his catalog never before attempted live, complete with an “all star lineup.” It will will be filmed for a future live DVD release.

At The Drive-In Book London, England Show For August

At The Drive-In have booked an August 28th show at the Brixton Academy in London, England. Tickets will go onsale on Friday, July 13th. In related news, you can watch a newly-uploaded video of band guitarist Omar Rodriguez-Lopez play a show in Melbourne, AUS last year with his Omar Rodriguez-Lopez Group below:

Pig Destroyer Recording New Album

Pig Destroyer have officially hit Visceral Sound Studios in Alexandria, VA to begin recording their as-yet untitled new album. Nineteen songs are being tracked for the effort with the band handling the production duties. A late 2012 release date through Relapse Records is in the works.

Meanwhile, drummer Adam Jarvis (Misery Index) has stepped up as the bands full-time drummer with guitarist Scott Hull stating:

“Tracking the drums happened this week and I’m honestly amazed at how Adam stepped up to the task of learning some challenging shit outside of his standard comfort zone. He came into the studio ready to destroy and destroy he did. And in the haze of long studio hours he never settled for a bad take.

He’s a real soldier. Adam has helped breathe new life into the band and we feel like we are starting fresh. Everyone here is excited for people to check out the new jams.”

Lamb Of God frontman Randy Blythe looks set to remain in custody in Prague, Czech Republic for a few more days at least. Various Czech media sites, including, are reporting that prosecutors in the case filed a complaint this past Friday, July 06th. The motion apparently seeks to block his pending release on bail. In turn a new bail hearing will be scheduled, though it was not specified if a date has yet been set.

Last week saw Blythe post $200,000 US bail for his release. Despite coming up with the money, he had been kept in custody pending a hearing regarding the conditions of his release.

The whole situation revolves around the fatal injury of a 19 year old fan at a 2010 show the band played in Prague. The victims family allege that Blythe was directly involved in pushing the victim offstage, where he injured his head and summarily died two weeks later. However, alleged footage from the incident seems to tell a different story.

Caspian have signed with Triple Crown Records and are readying their new full-length album “Waking Season” for a fall release through the label. The band co-produced the effort alongside producer Matt Bayles (Isis, Mastodon).

The album will mark a shift for the group as it will not only be the first time they have worked with an outside producer; but also the first time they have included vocals in their arrangements.

On that guitarist/keyboardist Philip Jamieson offered:

“We wanted to shake things up and work in a different type of environment – the kind of environment where it wasn’t just us calling the shots all the time. Working with someone who had the credibility to challenge the way we heard the songs outside of our own bubbles was extremely important to us for this record.

Matt has a way of pulling the pieces together to make them sound crystal clear, sharp and balanced without removing any raw energy from a track. Working with him was a humbling and enlightening experience and we feel like it really benefited the album”

Dates for a fall U.S. tour will be revealed soon while the following teaser for “Waking Season” was released:

Cannibal Corpse & DevilDriver To Team Up For Early 2013 European Tour

Cannibal Corpse and DevilDriver have revealed the dates for an early 2013 European tour together. Here’s where they will be playing:

02/09 Oulu, FIN – Teatrie Oulu
02/10 Tampere, FIN – Pakkahuone
02/11 Helsinki, FIN – Nosturi
02/13 Stockholm, SWE – Gota Kallare
02/14 Gothenburg, SWE – Brewhouse
02/15 Copenhagen, DEN – Amager Bio
02/16 Aarhus, DEN – Train
02/17 Hamburg, GER – Gruenspan
02/19 Tilburg, NET – 013
02/20 Cologne, GER – Essigfabrik
02/21 Karlsruhe, GER – Substage
02/22 Geiselwind, GER – Musichall
02/23 Antwerpen, BEL – Trix
02/24 Paris, FRA – Le Bataclan
02/26 Milan, ITA – Alcatraz
02/27 Lausanne, SWI – Les Docks
02/28 Zurich, SWI – Komplex 457
03/01 Chemnitz, GER – Sudbahnhof
03/02 Ostrava, CZE – Garage Club
03/05 Munich, GER – Backstage
03/06 Bous, GER – Garage
03/07 London, UK – Forum
03/08 Nottingham, UK – Rock City
03/09 Manchester, UK – HMV Ritz
03/10 Glasgow, UK – ABC