Latest News

RSS Link

Helmet Announce US “Betty” 20th Anniversary Tour

Helmet will be bringing their “Betty” 20th anniversary tour to the US in February. The trek will see a full album performance of “Betty” followed by a second set of fan favorites. It’s also worth noting that no openers will be booked.

02/19 Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
02/20 Philadelphia, PA – World Cafe Live
02/21 New York, NY – The Bowery Ballroom
02/22 Brooklyn, NY – Saint Vitus
02/24 Lancaster, PA – Chameleon Club
02/25 Washington, DC – Black Cat DC
02/26 Durham, NC – Motorco
02/27 Charlotte, NC – Visulite Theatre
02/28 Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade

System Of A Down’s Drummer Sends Out Another Tease Through Twitter

While it’s possible System Of A Down drummer John Dolmayan has the worst internet known to man, it’s far more likely he’s just toying with your emotions. Following his open-ended tweet of “Yes, it’s true” earlier in the week, Dolmayan has returned today with the following equally as cryptic tweet. The apparent teasing accompanies a number of show announcements.
click here for the tweet…

NYVES (Demon Hunter, Ex-Project 86) Crowdfund Over $50,000 For Debut Album

NYVES—the fledgling electronic music project from Demon Hunter vocalist Ryan Clark and Randy Torres (ex-Project 86)—can count themselves among the crowdfunding success stories. The outfit have managed to surpass their $50,000 goal (they’ve raised $51,462 as of this posting) in less than two weeks. If you’re interested in the project, check out its Kickstarter.

Cloudkicker & Intronaut’s ‘Live’ Album Available For Streaming

Cloudkicker and Intronaut‘s in-studio live album taken from their collaborative live run earlier this year is up for streaming. The effort was recorded at Fathom Tree Recording in Austin, TX this past April during Cloudkicker‘s first-ever tour, in which Intronaut served as the backing band to Cloudkicker‘s Ben Sharp. Century Media will release the effort on November 24th.
click here for the stream…

Soundgarden Offer Free Download Of “The Telephantasm” Remix

If an email signup and solving a puzzle doesn’t deter you, then a free download of a Soundgarden remix may be in your future. Should you complete both tasks you will be rewarded with the ‘Resurrection Remix‘ of “The Telephantasm“, as taken from the bands new rarities set, “Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path“. That 3-CD set will be released next week, November 24th. For the puzzle itself, head to

Cynic Drummer Sean Reinert Exits Death (DTA) Tour, Gene Hoglan Steps In

The ongoing Death (DTA) tour with Obituary, Massacre and Rivers Of Nihil has seen Cynic drummer Sean Reinert exit for health concerns. Fellow Death alumni Gene Hoglan (Testament, ex-Strapping Young Lad, etc.) will be taking his place on the trek, dates for which are available here. Meanwhile, Reinert said of his exit:

“Hey guys,

I was going to issue this statement today but it looks like the cat’s already been let out of the bag and people are drawing some crazy conclusions. So let me address what is going on with the tour change.

Yes, it is with great regret that I left the DTA tour after the San Francisco show Sunday night. Although I have spent weeks rehearsing for this tour and was very excited to put on great performances, it was not meant to be. For the past six months I have been suffering from lower back spasms, extreme muscle fatigue and limited grip strength.

It’s no big secret that after over the last two years and two major surgeries (full achilles repair on my right ankle and a year later knee surgery on my left knee for a torn MCL) that I’ve gained a lot of weight due to recovery and pain. All of this culminated in the perfect storm.

I realized that the situation was not getting better the more I played. Shortening the set was not something that I felt was fair to the fans and after three shows I realized the best thing for the tour was to get Gene in the fold and for me to get some definitive answers. Fortunately, Gene is available to take over for me starting tonight in Seattle.

He is of course a f*#king beast behind the kit and there’s no one better to fill in for me. I have already consulted with my Physician and will have a series of tests over the next few weeks to check for for everything from carpal/cubital tunnel syndrome to other possible nerve/spinal/back issues. I am sorry to the many fans who were looking forward to seeing me play this tour and I hope to make it up to you in the future.


Vital Remains Welcome Hour Of Penance Drummer To Their Lineup

Vital Remains have a new drummer in their employ. The group have hired on James Payne of Hour Of Penance and will have him in place for some new album writing sessions in January. The following was said of Payne‘s addition:

“I’m happy to announce our New Drummer James Payne from the band Hour Of Penance!!! He will be joining us in Jan 2015 to work on new material for our new album. We feel that James brings the speed,brutality,control,endurance and good technique playing that VR warrants. We look forward to working with him soon!

Fans can expect to see us in South America/North America Tour,starting Spring of 2015.”

Vanna, Heart To Heart, Etc. Reveal January Mini-Tour

Vanna, Heart To Heart, Brigades and Like Pacific have a late January New England tour booked:

01/28 Portland, ME – Port City Music Hall
01/29 Nashua, NH – Jewel Nightclub
01/30 Worcester, MA – The Palladium (no Heart To Heart)
01/31 Hartford, CT – The Webster Underground

Rage Against The Machine drummer Brad Wilk (most recently seen with The Last Internationale) has signed on to play the drums for The Smashing Pumpkins at a number of upcoming shows. The Killers bassist Mark Stoermer will also be joining the lineup for the select dates.

The first batch of confirmed shows with that lineup can be found below with further stops planned for Chicago, IL, San Francisco, CA and other unannounced cities. A December 10th appearance on ‘Jimmy Kimmel Live!‘ has also been booked.

11/30 Berlin, GER – Kesselhaus
12/05 London, UK – Koko’s
12/06 Paris, FRA – Le Trabendo
12/08 New York, NY – Webster Hall

  • Top Headlines

    1. David Draiman Clarifies Disturbed And Device’s Coexistence
    2. Refused Reportedly Teasing Their New Album
    3. System Of A Down Announce ‘Wake Up The Souls Tour’
    4. Earnings & Attendance From Deftones, Tool, Meshuggah, ‘Mayhem Festival’, ‘Warped Tour’, Etc. Shows
    5. Rap/Metalcore Outfit Neurotic November Debut “Wasabi Anguish” Video
  • Community Service

  • mrec-ad

  • NEW RELEASES 11.25.14

  • mrec-ad

  • mrec-ad

  • Facebook