Latest News

RSS Link

More Metallica vinyl is on the way next week via the bands own Blackened Recordings label. Due September 16th are new pressings of “Ride The Lightning“, “…And Justice For All“, “Kill ‘Em All” and “Death Magnetic“. The bands “Live Shit: Binge & Purge” box set will also be condensed down to a 3-CD/2-DVD set housed in a DVD bookstyle slipcase for a re-release on September 16th as well.

Drowning Pool To Release 13th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Of “Sinner”

Coinciding with the bands 13th anniversary tour for their 2001 release “Sinner“, will be a deluxe edition of the album itself. That 2-CD set will arrive November 11th on The Bicycle Music Company/Concord. It will be titled “Sinner (Unlucky 13th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)” and will run as follows:

Disc 1:

01 – “Sinner
02 – “Bodies
03 – “Tear Away
04 – “All Over Me
05 – “Reminded
06 – “Pity
07 – “Mute
08 – “I Am
09 – “Follow
10 – “Told You So
11 – “Sermon

Disc 2:

01 – “Sermon” (demo)
02 – “You Made Me” (demo)
03 – “Care Not” (demo)
04 – “Mask” (demo)
05 – “Soul” (demo)
06 – “Break You” (demo)
07 – “Less Than Zero” (demo)
08 – “Follow” (demo)
09 – “Told You So” (demo)
10 – “I Am” (demo)
11 – “Tear Away” (demo)
12 – “Bodies” (demo)
13 – “Heroes Sleeping” (demo)

Primer 55 Set For Late Fall US Tour With Razorz Edge

Primer 55 and Razorz Edge will be on the road together this fall under the banner of the ‘All In The Family Tour‘. Dates for that run include:

11/28 Sanford, FL – West End Live
11/29 Lake City, FL – Hangar 7
11/30 Jacksonville, FL – Jack Rabbits
12/01 Campobello, SC – Exit 5 Venue
12/02 Spartanburg, SC – Ground Zero
12/04 Beckley, WV – Muncheez
12/05 Mooresville, IN – Route 67 Bar & Grille
12/06 Lansing, MI – Mac’s Bar
12/07 Battle Creek, MI – The Music Factory
12/08 Jackson, MI – TBA
12/09 Ft. Wayne, IN – Berlin Music Pub
12/10 Cleveland, OH – The Foundry
12/13 St. Louis, MO – The Mad Magician

Soen (Ex-Opeth) To Release New Album “Tellurian” In November

Soen will return on November 04th with their sophomore album “Tellurian” on Spinefarm. That outfit—which features drummer Martin Lopez (ex-Opeth/Amon Amarth)—had David Bottrill (Tool, Muse) mix the outing, which their own guitarist Joakim Platbarzdis produced. A video is being prepared for the first single “Tabula Rasa” and will be available soon.

Bloodbath To Reveal New Singer Next Week, Confirm New Album & Release Date

Bloodbath have set “Grand Morbid Funeral” as the title to their forthcoming album, which will be released November 17th overseas through Peaceville. Furthermore, an announcement regarding the identity of their new singer will be made on September 16th, ending months of teases. That vocalist slot was officially vacated by Opeth‘s Mikael Åkerfeldt back in 2012.

Guitarist Anders “Blakkheim” Nystrom was quoted as saying of the new album:

“We’re proud of all these different styled releases and we loved doing each and every one of them, but the objective was never to settle with a certain style, so our time has come to shift once more. It was already decided right after the last album that the next record would not become The Fathomless Mastery part two, but in certain aspects it would actually become its antithesis.

So prepare for an ultimate blueprint of destructive, raw, heavy, organic, and sludgy death metal.”

Pallbearer, Sólstafir & Mortals Tour Booked For December

Pallbearer will head out west in December for the below run of shows with Sólstafir and Mortals:

12/02 Oklahoma City, OK – The Conservatory
12/03 Albuquerque, NM – Sister Bar
12/04 Phoenix, AZ – Crescent Ballroom
12/05 Los Angeles, CA – The Roxy
12/06 San Diego, CA – Soda Bar
12/07 San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill
12/09 Portland, OR – Hawthorne Theater
12/10 Vancouver, BC – Biltmore
12/11 Seattle, WA – Barboza
12/12 Boise, ID – The Shredder
12/13 Salt Lake City UT – Kilby Court
12/14 Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater
12/16 Kansas City, MO – The Riot Room
12/17 Minneapolis, MN – Triple Rock
12/18 Chicago, IL – Subterranean
12/19 St. Louis, MO – Firebird

He Is Legend Announce September East Coast Mini-Tour

He Is Legend have announced a last-minute run of shows for later this month that includes a free show in Brooklyn, NY. Here’s what’s booked:

09/18 Raleigh, NC – Kings Barcade (feat. Jesse Smith and The Holy Ghost)
09/19 Dewey Beach, DE – Bottle and Cork (feat. Jesse Smith and The Holy Ghost)
09/21 York, PA – The Depot (feat. Jesse Smith and The Holy Ghost)
09/23 Brooklyn, NY – Saint Vitus (feat. Soft Spot) (free show)

Helmet Plotting More US “Betty” 20th Anniversary Shows

Thus far Helmet have only played a handful of “Betty” 20th anniversary shows. It appears that more are planned for the not too distant future as the group posted the following tweet earlier today:

“The #Betty 20th Anniversary Tour of Europe starts tonight in Prague. 40 shows in total. USA – stay tuned…”

Slipknot Release Teaser For Impending “The Devil In I” Music Video

Slipknot will launch an official music video for their current single “The Devil In I” tomorrow (September 12th) morning. The clip will launch at 9am EDT/6am PDT and the following teaser for it has been put out in advance. You can find an audio stream of that track for now at this location. The bands new album “.5: The Gray Chapter” is due October 21st through Roadrunner.
click here for the teaser…

Sourvein have joined the Metal Blade Records roster and will release a new album titled “Aquatic Occult” in 2015 through the label. The bands fan and friend Randy Blythe (of Lamb Of God) penned the groups latest biography, an excerpt from which can be found below:

“Over twenty long dues-paying years later, Sourvein has at long last found a proper home for their doom-laden Southern noise with underground stalwarts Metal Blade Records, and Medlin couldn’t be happier. “Aquatic Occult“, the band’s first offering on the label, promises to be heavier than a two-ton anchor dropped into an antique porcelain bathtub– it’s going to break things. But getting here hasn’t been easy.

“Finally, man. Finally,” he says, shaking his head in disbelief as he reflects on the lengthy, grueling trek that brought his band to Metal Blade‘s roster.

“It’s the record I wanted to make when I was in those rooming houses, but I couldn’t,” Medlin says, “There was too much pain, so I got lost for bit, falling back into the party life and trying to numb myself with alcohol. But motherfuckers need to feel the pain. There is more to life than numbing yourself.” Is that what “Aquatic Occult” will be about, bringing the pain? “I’m going to bring the truth.

The lyrics are reality to me; I don’t write about cars or chicks or fucking horror movies, I write about getting my nose fucking broken, all the stuff I saw growing up and now. But I want it to be positive, to let people know that there is a way out of bad times and tough situations. I’m living proof,” he says. When Sourvein hits the road in 2015 to support “Aquatic Occult“, is that what he’ll be talking from the stage, positivity?”

Man, it’s not all peace and love; it’s just not coming from hate anymore. And when I’m on stage, I’m not up there to talk to you anyways. I’ll let the amplifiers do the talking. I want you to feel it. You’ve got to feel alive, and life sometimes includes pain. Masking it doesn’t do any good, because it’s still there. It’s better to live and feel it. All of it, the good, the bad, and the ugly.”

  • Top Headlines

    1. Ex-Isis Singer Teams With Members Of Russian Circles & Baptists In New Band Sumac
    2. A Closer Look At Slipknot’s New Bassist & Drummer, Bassists Identity Revealed? (Updated)
    3. Slipknot To Showcase Each Members New Mask Throughout The Week
    4. Tool Drummer Danny Carey And Primus Cover Tool’s “Ænema” Together Live
    5. Winners Of Germany’s 2014 ‘Metal Hammer Awards’ Revealed
  • Community Service

  • mrec-ad

  • NEW RELEASES 09.16.14

  • mrec-ad

  • mrec-ad

  • Facebook